About Us

Executive Board

The Executive Board (EB) is responsible to the Annual Assembly for the management of the Society. It comprises the 1st and 2nd Vice-Presidents and 2-8 ordinary members, and is chaired by the President of the Society. The term of office is four years.

The next EB elections will be held in 2024, deadline for nominations is 4 March. Contact your National Committee if you are interested.

To reflect the balance of industry and science IPS stands for, Executive Board members come from both areas. Further emphasis is laid on a cultural, gender and geographical balance.

With the exception of the Presidents, only one Board member from each country can be elected to the Board. Substitute members are not allowed. Elections for Executive Board members are held at the Annual Assembly on nominations by the IPS National Committees, usually every two years. Executive Board members are eligible for re-election.

To contact the EB, write an email to eb (at) peatlands.org.

Members of the Executive Board in 2022-2024


Marko Pomerants
Mr Marko Pomerants
Näituse 37, Rakvere, 44314, Estonia
+372 503 1365
marko.pomerants (at) peatlands.org

First Vice President

Mr Guus van Berckel
Lutsborgsweg 71, 9752 VT Haren, The Netherlands
+31 653114810
g.vanberckel (at) griendtsveen.de

Second Vice President

Professor Jack Rieley
1 Closes Side Lane, East Bridgford, Nottingham NG13 8NA, United Kingdom
+44 779 337 3236
jack.rieley (at) btinternet.com

Ordinary members

Donal Clarke

1 Westhill Park, Gorey, Co Wexford Y25 N297, Ireland
+353 86 255 3806
donalcla (at) eircom.net

Asha Hingorani

Hingorani headshot 2021.05.31
Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss Association, PO Box 37018, RPO Cannon St E, Hamilton, ON L8L 0A8, Canada
phone: +1 780 455 0654 mobile: +1 613 668 3037
asha (at) peatmoss.com

Bernd Hofer

Hofer & Pautz GbR, Ingenieurgesellschaft für Ökologie, Buchenallee 18, 48341 Altenberge, Germany
+49 171 214 0348
hofer (at) hofer-pautz.de

Dr. Sabine Jordan

Sabine Jordan Foto PI 2022
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Soil and Environment, Box 7014, S-75007 Uppsala, Sweden
+46 18 67 1946
sabine.jordan (at) slu.se

Giedrius Kavaliauskas

UAB Klasmann-Deilmann Ezerelis, Gervių g. 4, LT-53387 Ezerelis, Kauno rajonas, Lithuania
+370 650 91112
giedrius.kavaliauskas (at) klasmann-deilmann.com

Dr. Anna-Helena Purre

Engineering Bureau Steiger, Männiku tee 104, 11216 Tallinn, Estonia
+372 5569 5978
anna-helena (at) steiger.ee

Tuija Vähäkuopus

Geological Survey of Finland, P.O. Box 96 (Vuorimiehentie 5), FI-02151 Espoo, Finland
+358 29 503 5224, mobile +358 50 349 3477
tuija.vahakuopus (at) gtk.fi

Professor Meng Wang

Northeast Normal University, Institute of Peat and Mire Research, 5268 Renmin Street, Changchun 130024, China
+86 431 8509 9550
wangm581 (at) nenu.edu.cn

Honorary President Professor emeritus Juhani Päivänen

Helsinki, Finland
juhani.paivanen (at) gmail.com